null Team


Meet the Department of Computer Science

Full professors


Erik Barendsen prof. dr. Erik Barendsen

Learning and teaching
Teaching methodology
Digital literacy
Computational thinking
Pedagogical content knowledge
Context based education
Lambda calculus
Term and graph rewriting
Typing systems

Marko van Eekelen prof. dr. Marko van Eekelen 
faculty dean
Johan Jeuring prof. dr. Johan Jeuring Software Technology for learning and teaching
Design of automated exercise assistants
Serious games
Digital course support
Automated logic tutors
Design of interactive feedback tools for programming
Tanja Vos prof. dr. Tanja Vos 
programme leader bachelor CS



Associate professor

Bastiaan Heeren dr. Bastiaan Heeren 
head of CS group

Intelligent domain-specific exercise assistants
Improving the quality of type error messages

Harald Vranken dr. ir. Harald Vranken 
programme leader master CS and master SE

Virtual security labs
(Usable) security of on-line banking
Botnet detection with deep-learning networks
Governance of botnet detection
Energy analysis of blockchain consensus algorithms
Resilience of distributed networks
Security of communication protocols for IoT
IoT in smart cities

Stefano Bromuri
Stefano Bromuri Machine learning
Deep learning
Logic programming
Reinforcement learning


Assistant professors

Greg Alpar dr. Greg Alpár

Attribute based credentials
Mathematics education
Privacy-preserving technologies

Fenia Aivaloglou dr. Fenia Aivaloglou Software engineering research
Programming education
Systems security
Bernard van Gastel dr. Bernard van Gastel  
Stijn de Gouw dr. Stijn de Gouw  
Arjen Hommersom dr. Arjen Hommersom

Probabilistic graphical models
Probabilistic logic programming
Uncertainty reasoning
Symbolic reasoning
AI in medicine
Representation of medical knowledge
Reasoning about medical knowledge

Sung-Shik Jongmans dr. ir. Sung-Shik Jongmans  
Hugo Jonker dr. ir. Hugo Jonker

Browser and phone fingerprinting
Security protocol analysis
Fraud detection
Web vulnerability scanning
Privacy and verifiability of electronic voting and auctions
Smartphone-related privacy
Context-driven privacy and security
Privacy-by-default and enforced privacy

Arjan Kok dr. ir. Arjan Kok

Computer graphics
Virtual reality

Josje Lodder drs. Josje Lodder Automated logic tutors
Clara Maathuis dr. Clara Maathuis

AI and military cyber / information operations
Social media manipulation
Detecting disinformation campaigns on social media
Military technologies and conflict
Machine learning
Responsible AI
Artificial general intelligence
Hybrid intelligence

Martijn van Otterlo dr. ir. Martijn van Otterlo

Reinforcement learning
Knowledge representation
Responsible & explainable AI
Ethics of algorithms

Harrie Passier dr. ir. Harrie Passier

Software Quality in Education
Didactics of Computer Science
Feedback in e-learning tools

​​​​​​​ dr. Ebrahim Rahimi Social aspects of software development
Design aspects of programming
Code and comment quality
Designing of (personalized) e-learning tools
Learning analytics
Digital literacy
Computational thinking
Assessment of programming competencies
Stefano Schivo dr. Stefano Schivo

Security in IoT
Attack trees
Safety-security interplay

Sylvia Stuurman dr. ir. Sylvia Stuurman

Design for Change
Software Architecture
Design and programming

Frank Tempelman dr. Frank Tempelman

Machine learning for autonomous flight
Machine learning for scheduling

Freek Verbeek dr. Freek Verbeek  
Alaaeddin Swidan dr. ir. Alaaeddin Swidan

Didactics for teaching block-based languages
Debugging for block-based languages



Evert van de Vrie ir. Evert van de Vrie  
Nike van Vugt dr. Nikè van Vugt-Hage  
Petra Leeuwestein drs. Petra Leeuwestein-Verbeek  



Pekka Aho dr. Pekka Aho  
Daniele Di Mitri dr. Daniele Di Mitri  
Fabian van den Broek dr. Fabian van den Broek

Mobile communication security
Privacy-preserving authorisation with IRMA

Nico Naus  dr. Nico Naus  
Sietse Ringers  dr. Sietse Ringers

Attribute-based credentials
Privacy-friendly identity management
Privacy-preserving authorisation with IRMA
Polymorpghic encryption and pseudonymisation


PhD students

Luc Edixhoven  Luc Edixhoven, MSc  
Olivia Rodrigues Valdes  Olivia Rodríguez Valdés, MSc  
Timmy Weerwag  Timmy Weerwag, MSc  


External PhD students

  • Raphaela Butz, MSc (supervised by Arjen Hommersom)
  • Laura Benvenuti, MSc (supervised by Johan Versendaal)
  • drs. Teresa Consiglio (supervised by Gerrit van der Veer)
  • Ed van Doorn, MSc (supervised by Sylvia Stuurman and Marko van Eekelen)
  • Hieke Keuning, MSc (supervised by Johan Jeuring and Bastiaan Heeren)
  • Benjamin Krumnow MSc (supervised by Hugo Jonker and Harald Vranken)
  • Arjan Lamers, MSc (supervised by Marko van Eekelen and Sung-Shik Jongmans)
  • ir. Vincent van der Meer (supervised by Hugo Jonker and Marko van Eekelen)
  • Vreda Pieterse MSc (supervised by Marko van Eekelen)
  • Andreas Schuderer, magister (supervised by Marko van Eekelen)
  • Martijn Stegeman, MSc (supervised by Erik Barendsen)
  • Koen Weterings, MSC (supervised by Stefano Bromuri and Marko van Eekelen)