Meet the Department of Computer Science

Full professors

prof. dr. ir. Natasha Alechina
professor of Safe and Responsible AI
Safe and responsible AI
  Portretfoto Erik Barendsen prof. dr. Erik Barendsen
professor of Didactics of CS

Learning and teaching
Teaching methodology
Digital literacy
Computational thinking
Pedagogical content knowledge
Context based education
Lambda calculus
Term and graph rewriting
Typing systems

Portretfoto Stef Joosten prof. dr. ir. Stef Joosten
professor of Design of Information Systems

Relation algebras
Design-driven development

Portretfoto Tanja Vos prof. dr. Tanja Vos
professor of Software Engineering
programme leader bachelor CS


GUI-based testing


Associate professor

Portretfoto Stefano Bromuri
Stefano Bromuri

Machine learning
Deep learning
Logic programming
Reinforcement learning

Portretfoto Bastiaan Heeren dr. Bastiaan Heeren
head of CS group

Intelligent domain-specific exercise assistants
Improving the quality of type error messages

Portretfoto Arjen Hommersom dr. Arjen Hommersom Probabilistic graphical models
Probabilistic logic programming
Uncertainty reasoning
Symbolic reasoning
AI in medicine
Representation of medical knowledge
Reasoning about medical knowledge

Portretfoto Sung-Shik Jongmans

dr. ir. Sung-Shik Jongmans Formal methods
Portretfoto Harald Vranken dr. ir. Harald Vranken
programme leader master CS and master SE

Virtual security labs
(Usable) security of on-line banking
Botnet detection with deep-learning networks
Governance of botnet detection
Energy analysis of blockchain consensus algorithms
Resilience of distributed networks
Security of communication protocols for IoT
IoT in smart cities


Assistant professors

Portretfoto Fenia Aivaloglou dr. Fenia Aivaloglou Software engineering research
Programming education
Systems security
Portretfoto Mina Sheikhalishahi

dr. Mina Alishahi

Machine learning
Privacy in distributed learning
Machine learning for attack detection
Privacy-preserving data analysis
Security & privacy in IoT and Smart Cities

Portretfoto Greg Alpár dr. Greg Alpár

Attribute based credentials
Mathematics education
Privacy-preserving technologies

Portretfoto Fabian van den Broek
dr. Fabian van den Broek

Mobile communication security
Privacy-preserving authorisation with IRMA

dr. Murat Firat  
Portretfoto Stijn de Gouw
dr. Stijn de Gouw

Formal verification of programming libraries

Portretfoto Frouke Hermens dr. Frouke Hermens Eye tracking
Machine learning
Research methods
Data science
Portretfoto Jesse Heyninck
dr. Jesse Heyninck Knowledge representation
Formal argumentation
Defeasible and non-monotonic reasoning
Portretfoto Hugo Jonker dr. ir. Hugo Jonker

Browser and phone fingerprinting
Security protocol analysis
Fraud detection
Web vulnerability scanning
Privacy and verifiability of electronic voting and auctions
Smartphone-related privacy
Context-driven privacy and security
Privacy-by-default and enforced privacy

dr. Tobias Kappé  
Portretfoto Arjan Kok dr. ir. Arjan Kok

Computer graphics
Virtual reality

Portretfoto Clara Maathuis
dr. Clara Maathuis

AI and military cyber / information operations
Social media manipulation
Detecting disinformation campaigns on social media
Military technologies and conflict
Machine learning
Responsible AI
Artificial general intelligence
Hybrid intelligence

Portretfoto Gideon Maillette de Buy Wennige
dr. Gideon Maillette de Buy Wenniger Machine translation (syntax, morphology, semantics)
Handwritten text recognition
Deep learning
Computer vision
Scholarly document processing
Machine learning
Portretfoto Joshua Moerman
dr. Joshua Moerman Formal methods
Automata learning
Portretfoto Nico Naus
dr. Nico Naus Formal Methods
Binary verification
Functional Programming
Programming Languages
Portretfoto Harrie Passier dr. ir. Harrie Passier

Software Quality in Education
Didactics of Computer Science
Feedback in e-learning tools

Portretfoto Ebrahim Rahimi dr. Ebrahim Rahimi Teaching methodology
Portretfoto Ashish Sai dr. Ashish Sai Distributed systems security analysis
Privacy and security analysis of mobile applications
Energy analysis of blockchain consensus algorithms
Static source code analysis
Architecture recovery
Portretfoto Stefano Schiva dr. Stefano Schivo

Security in IoT
Attack trees
Safety-security interplay

Portretfoto Tim Steenvoorden dr. Tim Steenvoorden Programming languages
Functional programming
Compilers and interpreters
Type systems
Portretfoto Sylvia Stuurman dr. ir. Sylvia Stuurman

Design for Change
Software Architecture
Design and programming

Portretfoto Alaaeddin Swidan
dr. ir. Alaaeddin Swidan

Didactics for teaching block-based languages
Debugging for block-based languages

Portretfoto Daniel Stanley Tan
dr. Daniel Stanley Tan Defect detection
Image forensics
Crop pest and disease detection
Creative AI
Portretfoto Freek Verbeek
dr. Freek Verbeek Formalisation & verification of binary code



Janneke Bolt  
Portretfoto Wietze van der Molen
drs. Wietze van der Molen  
Portretfoto Nikè van Vugt-Hage dr. Nikè van Vugt-Hage  



PhD students

  Jos Craaijo, MSc  

Niels Doorn, MSc  
Portretfoto Luc Edixhoven
Luc Edixhoven, MSc Formal methods
Formal language theory
Portretfoto Lianne Hufkens
Lianne Hufkens, MSc Testar
Parsa Karimi, MSc  
Portretfoto Daniel Spaniol
Daniel Spaniol, MSc Program Analyses
Low-level code
Formal methods
Portretfoto Olivia Rodriguez Valdés
Olivia Rodríguez Valdés, MSc Testar


External PhD students

  • Raphaela Butz, MSc (supervised by Arjen Hommersom)
  • Feng Luo Xi Chen, MSc (supervised by Stefano Bromuri and Marko van Eekelen)
  • Francesco Gibellini, MSc (supervised by Stefano Bromuri)
  • Benjamin Krumnow MSc (supervised by Hugo Jonker and Harald Vranken)
  • Arjan Lamers, MSc (supervised by Marko van Eekelen and Sung-Shik Jongmans)
  • ir. Vincent van der Meer (supervised by Hugo Jonker and Marko van Eekelen)
  • ir. Ton Poppe (supervised by Arjen Hommersom and Hugo Jonker)
  • Andreas Schuderer, magister (supervised by Stefano Bromuri)
  • Martijn Stegeman, MSc (supervised by Erik Barendsen)
  • Koen Weterings, MSC (supervised by Stefano Bromuri and Marko van Eekelen)